The Dishwasher is RIGHT THERE…

Posted: November 4, 2014 in Blog, Chores, Marriage, Musings, Rants, Women
Tags: , , , ,

I have a rule in my house: Either wash the dish or put it in the dishwasher.

It’s really simple and also allows the user to rarely have to wash a dish because I’m super-dee-duper anal about emptying it out.

I find it cathartic.

My husband does not follow this rule. This one simple rule that was put in place when I finally realized it’s not my job to wash the dishes of a grown ass man.  I just don’t get it, the dishwasher is right there, you can’t miss it!

He neither washes his dishes, NOR puts them in the dishwasher, AND HE NEVER RINSES. He just sticks the dirties on the counter.

And leaves them there.

Where in the marriage handbook did it state that I would LOVE to wash your nasty ass dishes, ESPECIALLY the next day after the food is all dried on and stuck there like a 30 day old grilled cheese sandwich??

I shouldn’t complain, it’s not really my husband’s fault.

It’s the MACHINE.

Apparently, the dishwasher is a relative of Skynet and turns on its invisibility shield when he comes by. How can he POSSIBLY put the dishes in the dishwasher when he cannot see it??

It’s the only explanation, right?

RIGHT???!!!

Comments
  1. ouch. I think you need a glass of wine dear. (unless you’re recovering then…cheesecake?)

    Like

  2. Erin says:

    We don’t have a dishwasher (woe!!) but I can definitely relate to the anguish of non-rinsers. On one hand, I’m happy that Henry will at least wash the dishes (we share those responsibilities), but he has no qualms with letting it all stack up. I’m the type who has difficulty going to bed if there are dishes in the sink.

    When I used to work late shift, I would come home and it was like there had been a dinner party in my house. EVERY. NIGHT. How do two people dirty so many dishes?!?!

    LOVE the new blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

